KING & WHITE RABBIT

My recent trip to Sydney, gave me the opportunity to do another shoot for my Alice project.
This time it was to shoot the King (aka Tim Hilton) and the White Rabbit (aka David Lloyd)
These two "models" were fantastic and I thank them so much for wanting to be a part of my project.

I must say they have been the best dressed so far. I decided to get all the clothes made in Hong Kong.
Beside the Commes des Garcons shirt the King is wearing and the Sass and Bide leggings, the rest was all made in HK by a local TST Tailor.
I'm thinking that by having the outfit especially designed for the person, my ideas work even stronger.
Below are raw images of them and I have now commenced the process of making them fit into my 'Alice World'!
King blog

I have gone with a more graphical look for the king and am hoping to achieve an 'op art'-like effect.

What is Op Art?
I'm para phrasing now….

 
"Optical art is a method of painting concerning the interaction between illusion and picture plane. They are abstract, with many of the better known pieces made in black and white. When the viewer looks at them, the impression is given of movement, hidden images, flashing and vibration, patterns, or alternatively, of swelling or warping.

It was in 1965 that the term 'Op Art' entered the public consciousness. Op Art captured the imagination of the public and became part of the swinging sixties. The fashion, design and advertising industries fell in love with its graphic, sign-like patterns and decorative value. 

Bridget Riley became Great Britain's number one OP Artist.
"The basis of the Op Art movement was a form of geometric abstraction, which was in a way impersonal and not obviously related to the real world. "I couldn’t get near what I wanted through seeing, recognizing and recreating, so I stood the problem on its head. I started studying squares, rectangles, triangles and the sensations they give rise to… It is untrue that my work depends on any literary impulse or has any illustrative intention. The marks on the canvas are sole and essential agents in a series of relationships which form the structure of the painting." (Bridget Riley)"

Read more…
http://www.op-art.co.uk/bridget-riley/

Bridget Riley
As for the White Rabbit, I'm thinking landscape….
But this is where the process begins, sometime the most obvious just doesn't work!

 

Leave a Reply

